Louisiana Republicans & Democrats Elect National Convention Delegates


Some with GREAT Difficulty!

The 2012 Louisiana Republican State Convention met on Saturday in Shreveport and elected 30 delegates to represent the state in Tampa, Florida at the Republican National Convention.

2012 Louisiana Delegates of United. Democratic Party.

The Democratic State Central Committee (DSCC)of the Louisiana Democratic Party (LDP) on Saturday elected the 22 final members (plus one alternate) to its delegation that will represent the state at the Democratic National Convention in Charlotte, North Carolina, in September..

Under Republican party rules, ten supporters of Rick Santorum were chosen. Five delegates are official Mitt Romney delegates and one is for Ron Paul.  The other fourteen are technically unbound to any candidate and are expected to support Governor Romney.

Louisiana receives 46 votes at the Republican national convention. Thirty were elected on Saturday. Three are automatic delegates. No one was nominated for the final thirteen positions, which were left vacant and may now be filled by the state party’s Executive Committee. The positions were left open by a majority of the delegates participating in the convention in order to facilitate talks with Ron Paul supporters who refused to participate in the convention in order to protest state party rules requiring presidential candidates to approve delegates allocated to them.

Earlier this week, Rick Santorum sent a letter to state GOP Chairman Roger Villere asking, in essence, that the party prevent “delegate stealing,” an informal term that describes the maneuver used by some presidential campaigns to put their supporters in spots won by opposing campaigns. The Romney campaign also sent a list of five official delegates and alternate delegates to Chairman Villere. The Party Executive Committee passed supplemental rules requiring that positions won by Santorum and Romney be filled with individuals approved by those campaigns.

Louisiana Democratic Party Chairwoman Karen Carter Peterson was elected to lead the delegation when it met immediately after the completion of the DSCC meeting.

“I want to first congratulate all of the great Democrats who offered themselves for election in this process,” Chairwoman Peterson said. “The number of people who wanted to be delegates to this convention is powerful testimony to the bright future that our party has due to the passion for our party that these candidates demonstrated. We were all winners in this process.”

“To those fortunate enough to be selected to represent all Louisiana Democrats in Charlotte where we will launch President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden on their path towards re-election, I say that we should be both honored and humbled by the opportunity we have been given and the work that we must do,” Peterson added.

The Democratic National Convention will be held September 3-6 in Charlotte.
Eight Party Leader/Elected Official (PLEO) delegates were selected in the first round of voting, which was followed by voting for 14 At-Large delegate positions, plus one alternate.

Democrats voted to elect delegates from each of Louisiana’s current seven congressional districts.
The DNC At-Large and Party Leaders & Elected Official (PLEO) delegates elected on Saturday are:

PLEO Delegates:
Representative Wesley Bishop
Representative John Bel Edwards
Mayor Cedric Glover
Representative Marcus Hunter
Mayor Mitch Landrieu
Representative Walt Leger III
Mayor Jennifer Vidrine
Councilwoman Mary Wardsworth

At-Large Delegates:
Female Delegates
Mozella Bell
Thai Browder
Lisa Diggs
Sally Donlon
Cynthia Hedge-Morrell
Renee Lapeyrolerie
Carol LeBlanc
Gail Ledet
Dr. Cassandra Shelling
Nita Steele

Male Delegates
Sean Bruno
Kenny Garrett
Brett Jackson
David Wilburn
At-Large Female Alternate: Brenda Hensley Smith

They join the district delegates and alternates who were elected by party members in May. Those district delegates and alternates are:

First Congressional District
Female Delegates
Belinda Brown
Elsie Palmer Burkhalter
Brenda “Ann” Palmer

Male Delegates
Jessie Lee Philips
T.J. Smith, Jr.
Male Alternate:  Patrick L. Miller

Second Congressional District
Female Delegates
Diana E. Bajoie
Candace N. Newell
DeShannon Cobb Russell
Female Alternate:  Barbara R. Keller

Male Delegates
Jay H. Banks
Troy “C” Carter
Mark D. Spears, Jr.

Third Congressional District
Female Delegates
Debbie S. Craighead
Dr. Camalyn Gaines
Judy Brignac Songy

Male Delegates
Matthew F. Block
Damon K. Davis
Randal L. Gaines
Male Alternate:  Wayne Thibodeaux

Fourth Congressional District
Female Delegates
Frankie Mae Evans
Barbara Norton
Daryl Joy Walters
Female Alternate:  Shawanda Jackson

Male Delegates
Lynn D. Cawthorne
Kenneth R. Epperson, Sr.
Patrick C. Williams

Fifth Congressional District
Female Delegates
Billye Burns
Katrina R. Jackson
Mary Kincade

Male Delegates
Charles Kincade
Rodney McFarland, Sr.
Ronnie Lamar Traylor

Sixth Congressional District
Female Delegates
Regina A. Barrow
Cassandra Butler
Pat Haynes Smith

Male Delegates
Gideon T. Carter, III
Sherman G. Ruth
Alfred C. Williams
W.T. Winfield

Seventh Congressional District
Female Delegates
Myra Wilburn Bennett
Evia Hodge
Lexi Thompson

Male Delegates
Charles Ray Bennett
Davante Lewis
Jonald J. Walker, III